Ebola, ISIS, and Prayer

There has been some serious radio silence on this end of the blogosphere, and I’m sorry about that. With the combination of the fact that I barely have time to sleep and that I haven’t been feeling super compelled to write about anything, this blog hasn’t seen a post in upwards of two months. While I may be a bit rusty, here goes nothing…

Over the past few busy, busy months, I’ve been learning all sorts of new things. It just took until fall break for me to actually have time to reflect on all those things. So here I am, sitting at my kitchen table, reflecting on what I’ve learned and what’s going on in the world around me.

This world is a scary place to live today, my friends. The top headlines on all the news sites are about how we’re all going to die because of ISIS or Ebola (it switches on the daily). This wide scale hysteria and the already depressing nature of the monotony of everyday life can make it seem like there’s little to no hope, and nearly nothing you can do.

Both of those things are wrong. While there is no hope in the world and our culture, there is glorious hope found in the God who created us for so much more than this petty, broken world. This is something I constantly have to remind myself of. He is capable and wants to redeem the world, redeem our unsatisfying and sinful actions for His glory. This is BIG STUFF. Sometimes I just want to run around and scream “don’t you get it?!” This affects your life and my life and everyone’s lives. It’s important and I pray that you consider it to be.

We can believe that God is doing bigger things with us, and that He has a plan, but that doesn’t make it easy to sit by and wait for that to happen. And that is where prayer comes in. Prayer is where we carry our trials and tribulations, lift up our friends, and glorify God. It’s a sacred act and it’s incredibly important to our lives.

Reading the news is sad and scary sometimes, as I’ve mentioned before. But we don’t have to sit ideally by and wait for someone else to do something. in the Gospel of Mark, chapter 9 verse 29, Jesus is speaking to the disciples when they come to Him because they cannot heal someone.

“And he said to them, “This kind cannot be driven out by anything but prayer.'”

What a blessing we have been given, that we can pray directly to the Father, and He hears us and answers our prayers. While many times we pray for ourselves, it is crucial that we bring the petitions and prayers of our brothers and sisters in Christ and of the world to God. Reading this article prompted me to write this post, as my heart truly breaks for what is going on in the Middle East.

Listen to this song by Steven Curtis Chapman, called Carry You to Jesus. It sheds new light on the concept of prayer and petition for others, and is in general very cool. I hope that this hits you as an important subject, and you will spend some time conversing with your Creator today.

Leave a Reply

