Hi, I’m a hot mess. How are you?

Sometimes I am a total wreck. Like last Thursday. I was getting my haircut, and then I forgot something so I had to go back home, and so ensued an hour where it seemed like literally every single possible thing went wrong. The last straw was when I couldn’t figure out a gas pump. I just sat in my car and balled and called my mom. She was all “what’s wrong?!” and I was like “I can’t pump my gas, waaaaaaah.” Like here I am, a nineteen year old licensed driver, unable to figure out a gas pump even though I’ve pumped gas so many times before. And the floodgates opened, and I was inconsolable. Over GAS. (If we’re not friends in real life yet, don’t judge me by this! I can usually get through everyday activities without crying, I promise!)

I recount this tale to make something quite clear: I am a broken, hot freakin mess. I’d venture to say that, behind all our cool exteriors, there’s a lot falling to pieces on the inside. And sometimes, it’s apparent on the outside too. We’re afraid to admit that we’re falling apart inside, thinking that what everyone looks like on the outside is how they feel on the inside. Well, I’m here to tell you, sometimes I may look like I have it all together, but that’s probably beyond false.

So far, this is turning out to be a super encouraging post isn’t it?! That’s why y’all come to my blog, to hear sad truths about my life like I cry at gas stations!

Well, whether you are falling apart on the inside or on the outside, I’ve got great news. I know someone who never falls apart, who’s been through it all, can relate, and wants to help you pick up the pieces. He helps me every day, and I’m so thankful. Jesus Christ picks up the mess that is my life, and He rearranges the pieces in a way that make it more beautiful than I could ever imagine.

If you’re going through something that seems impossible, or you feel like no one can relate, I promise you, He can.

I don’t know what you’re going through, but He does.

If you feel like this, don’t keep it bottled up. Sometimes we need to ugly cry in public places (I clearly did). Let it out, give it to Him, or if you don’t know Him, find comfort in someone who does. They (or I!) would be more than willing, I’m sure, to lift you and whatever you’re going through up in prayer.

I guess what it all comes down to is this: God loves you beyond anything you can imagine. You’re never alone. We’re all hot messes. Reach out. Love one another.

That’s the message I felt compelled to share tonight. I pray that it hits you hard in all the right places. And please, reach out if you need prayer. Because trust me, sometimes I really do too.

You are not alone.

Leave a Reply

