Brief Musings on Christian Music

We’ve all been through this before: you hear a catchy song, and one line of the song repeats OVER AND OVER AND OVER again in your head for an unprecedented amount of time.  Usually it’s an absurd line that isn’t particularly meaningful, and you can’t remember the surrounding lyrics. With the content of most of today’s pop lyrics, this has become especially annoying (see Jefferson Bethke’s video on the absurdness of pop lyrics here).

Over the past year, I’ve been listening to more Christian music, because I go to a Christian college and I’ve discovered a bunch of artists who I really like. But, because I’ve been listening to more Christian music, the lyrics that I get stuck in my head are actually truths that I should be taking more to heart.

This past week, it was Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing. The third verse starts out saying “Oh to grace how great a debtor daily I’m constrained to be! Let thy goodness, like a fetter, bind my wandering heart to thee.” That’s not something that I think about all the time. Every single day, I live my life through the grace of God, who gave me another day. Instead of having “turn down for what! Do do do do do do” stuck in my head, I’m being taught things by thinking about what the lyrics stuck in my head actually mean.

I didn’t write this post to say that Christians shouldn’t listen to secular music. Take it from me, who streamed the Original Aladdin Broadway soundtrack for two hours this morning. I believe that the act of creating art is a way that these people use their talents that God gave them! So please don’t think this is my condemnation of secular music. Rather, I wrote this to prompt people to listen to more Christian music, if only to be fed even more with truths we can apply daily. To get you started, here’s a playlist I made on Spotify that features some of my favorite Christian music. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

