Emily Letts; Things Happen!

Here is a  post that I wrote last week. You can find the original post I wrote here.

If you’ve been paying attention to the news/internet in the last few weeks, you may have heard the story of Emily Letts. Emily, an abortion counselor in New Jersey, filmed herself getting an abortion “to show it wasn’t scary — and that there is such a thing as a positive abortion story. It’s my story.” The video has over a million hits on YouTube, you can watch it here. This woman writes, in her Cosmo opinion article, that the reason that she got pregnant was, and I quote, “I hadn’t been using any kind of birth control… So I tracked my ovulation cycle, and I didn’t have any long-term partners. I thought I was OK. But, you know, things happen. I wound up pregnant.” (Cosmo).

This woman decided to get an abortion because, essentially, birth control didn’t seem all that safe, even though she tells the people she counsels every day to use it. And because she didn’t think it was safe/decided not to use it, she wound up pregnant. Following her logic a bit further, because she was irresponsible and didn’t use a condom or birth control, the life of her unborn child should be terminated. She should just kill the baby which is the product of the unprotected sex that occurred because “things happen.”

I wonder if “things happen” is an excuse that stands up in court. Like if someone went out into the street and just shot someone dead and testified saying “things happen,” the jury would just let them off the hook? They most certainly would not. Why are we treating this any differently? People who are calling for “reproductive rights” can call it a fetus all they want, but this is a LIFE growing inside a woman. A life. Call it what you want, but that’s what it boils down to. And I’m not quite sure how a human in the womb is ANY DIFFERENT than a human on the street, other than the fact that a human on the street can run, hide, and typically defend themselves, which humans in the womb cannot do.

The worst part of the video is that at the end she says “I feel in awe… That I can make a life. And I knew what I was gonna do was right [have an abortion], cause it was right for me…” What did you get from that statement? What I heard was “I enjoy the power of being able to create a life and then kill it. Because, you know, now isn’t a great time for me to have a baby. I don’t really want the responsibility.” This is the sorry state of our society. Where people are praised for getting rid of their responsibilities by “making them go away.” One day in the future, people will look back at our times and wonder how the heck some of us sat idly by and allowed a Holocaust 2.0 to occur, on the most vulnerable humans alive. Don’t be one of those people. Speak out! And pray for the approximately 3,288 babies that will be aborted today because the women decided for any number of reasons to kill the life inside her.

Leave a Reply

