Satisfaction

Two weeks ago, I posted about being content with where we are. And as much as I’d like to say that I have totally mastered that, I have been struggling with it a lot. Mostly because Grove City is currently a very sad, cold version of the tundra without any fun mountains to ski on. In my mind I have been wishing myself back to Greece or Florida or any place where it is regularly above freezing. But since I have been trying to work on being present where I am and not wishing my self to places, I’ve been trying to figure out a practical way to apply that in my life. The other day I was listening to Desert Soul by Rend Collective Experiment (a really nifty band!) and one of the lines really struck me. It says, “You are exactly what we need, only You can satisfy.”

I think when it comes down to it, as I’ve mentioned before, we are always waiting for that next person or place or thing to come along to make us truly happy, or to make us feel like we have finally “made it.” But we are missing what’s going on around us AND the big picture. Hoping that that next person that comes along is going to fulfill you completely is putting too much pressure on them and you! If I were to go to Greece or Florida, I’d just want to be back with my Grove friends. If I said “just wait. Once spring break comes, you’ll finally be happy,” once that happens, I have to put my faith in something else that will just pass me by.
What God has really been showing me this week is that none of those things will ever satisfy the craving that we feel which yearns for the next big thing. While we are so busy focused on that, God is waiting in the wings for us to finally realize that He is the only one who can truly complete us. At the risk of using an over-used cliche, “there is a God shaped hole in you.” The thing about cliches is that most of the time they are true. There IS a God shaped hole in you. God is a big dude. Nothing else will fit in that hole. It might seem okay for a while, but soon enough you’ll be looking for a new substitute. 
This coming week, I am going to work on filling that God shaped hole in me with God himself, relying on Him to satisfy me. How will you work on being more present in the moment this week? Drop me a line and let me know! I’m eager to hear your ideas. In the meantime, I’ll be working on my relationship with the one guy I know I can always count on, God! Until next week….
One thought on “Satisfaction

  1. Hi Jamieson! Keeping ones focus in the present/moment and being content in said moment always reminds me of a scene from Star Wars: Empire Strikes Back in which Yoda is trying to train Luke to be a Jedi knight: “Ready are you? What know you of ready? For eight hundred years have I trained Jedi. My own counsel will I keep on who is to be trained. A Jedi must have the deepest commitment, the most serious mind. This one a long time have I watched. All his life has he looked away… to the future, to the horizon. Never his mind on where he was. Hmm? What he was doing. Hmph. Adventure. Heh. Excitement. Heh. A Jedi craves not these things. You are reckless.” Praise the Lord that He is so patient with us!

Leave a Reply

