Cherish the Moment

Instagram is one of the many time sucks in my life. But I like to think of it as a good time suck. Or at the very least, a pretty one. I went through a couple of months ago and followed a ton of National Geographic accounts (NatGeoTravel, NatGeoCreative, etc) and some of their photographers. Sometimes I just scroll through my newsfeed and I just think “dang! What I wouldn’t do to be there right now…”
When it comes down to it, most people would rather be somewhere else. It’s the old “grass is always greener on the other side” concept. (Or as they say in The Little Mermaid, “The seaweed is always greener in somebody else’s lake.” I like that better.) I struggle with this a lot too, wishing I was at home, or back visiting Greece, or spending time in a cabin in Maryland. What I always gloss over, though is the simple fact that I am where I am for a reason. If I were actually to go where ever it was that I thought would be more fun or more satisfying, there would always be something missing.
What I’ve been working on reminding myself is that God has put me at Grove City College for a reason. What that is, I don’t know yet. Maybe it’s to grow in my faith (I’ve grown a lot since I got here), and maybe it’s for me to be involved in Young Life. Or it could be something completely different that I can’t see now. Everyday that I am here, living, working, breathing, I discover more and more my purpose. As it says in the book of Jeremiah chapter 1 verse 5, “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, and before you were born I consecrated you; I appointed you a prophet to the nations.” Before you even got to be where you are, God had planned for you to be there and what you would do. So be present in that, knowing that God placed you there from His divine perspective. 
It’s so easy in the dreariness of winter to wish yourself away to a warm, far off place. But I’m going to challenge you (and me!) to be present in the moment and enjoy it fully. You can’t enjoy where you are if you are constantly thinking about where you would rather be. Instead of pinning pictures of Hawaiian beaches on Pinterest, go hang out with friends or take pictures of the snow or meet new people!
It will be a challenge but I think we are all up to it. As long as we apply ourselves, we can enjoy every moment we have where we are, because we don’t know how many moments we have left here. Live them to the very fullest, right where you are!

Leave a Reply

