Home is where the Heart is

Well, dear readers, there are exactly 6 days until I grace the adorable little town of Granville, Ohio with my presence. Or, more accurately, in 6 days I will be soaking up all the glory and beauty and fantasticness that is Granville and I CAN’T WAIT. My time at Grove so far has been amazing but I’m so ready for some Granville lovin’. I will be partaking of all the things that make my little home town amazing, such as River Road, the Farmers Market, Whits, my family, MY CATS <3, and my friends. Also fall. Check how beautiful Granville is in the fall.

                                                                                                  (Source: Google Images)
Before I left for college, all I could think about was how my life was never going to be the same, and how I was never going to be at home and it would never be the same etc, etc. There was a lot of panicking going on. All I could think about was, why would I leave such a perfect place when I have perfectly awesome friends here and also I have two cats who love me? (oh, and my family… just kidding love you guys!)
My friend Rose, who is a super cool Senior in college, imparted much wisdom on me in our time together, but right before I left she gave me the best advice ever. For graduation, she gave each of the girls in our small group who were heading off to college a notebook. On the front was a map of the place we were going to college, and on the back a map of Granville. In the front, she wrote us each a note. To this day, I still tear up when I read the note because it’s so sweet. Her parting words were as follows, “I’m giving you this journal because I want it to be a reminder of where you’re coming from and where you’re going. The beautiful part about home is that you can have more than one. You will learn that with time.”
The time is here and now. I finally understand what Rose meant when she wrote those words to me, with three years perspective on the whole leaving your life behind thing. North Hall room 157 has become my second home, and my roommate Nicole and my other friends have become my family here. But I still consider my home to be Granville, with my family, friends, cats and River Road (I really miss my frozen Chai if you can’t tell).
To be sure, I am SO freakin excited to be going home next week and see all the people who know me best and eat all my favorite food. But a little part of me will be missing my routine of lunch with Nicole, running with Dana, freaking out with Maya and everything else that goes on in a typical day. It’s really too bad that I can’t be in two places at once.
In the meantime, I’ll just be counting down the days until I can see Broadway covered in fall leaves with people milling about everywhere. I will update the blog from Granville next week. Most likely there will be some selfies with my cats included. Until then….

                                                                                                   (Source: Google Images)

One thought on “Home is where the Heart is

Leave a Reply

