Just What I Needed

What a week. This weekend, I had my first lacrosse game (we won!) and had Northern Hospitality (NoHo) which is a dance put on for freshman by the RAs of MAP North (my dorm). I also went to church and had Young Life and slept a lot. What that all boils down to is that I got behind on my homework. I’ve had a pretty solid system, since I got here, of doing my homework the night that it is assigned, so I almost always have my homework done the day it’s assigned. Because of the craziness of last weekend I got behind, and have been behind on the work all week. It’s all getting done, just not when I want it to get done… (Grover Problems).
When it came to looking at my schedule for this week, I realized how much I had coming up in the next two weeks. I have five midterms next week, with three on Tuesday and two on Friday. On top of a paper due Thursday, and then a paper due the following Monday. In short, I realized that this week was my week of studying before all the craziness began. Little did I know that this week would be one of the hardest weeks I’ve experienced in a long time.
Tuesday morning, I got a quiz back in Western Civilization (by far my least favorite and most horrible class), and the grade I received was not very good. I went back to my room and slept through chapel, incredibly stressed out and upset. Wednesday, I was stressed again, because I had another quiz in Civ the next day (today) and I was starting to feel the pressure of midterms. I spent hours in the library and studied through dinner, grabbing something quick in the SAC (student union). Today, I went to Civ and my professor chose the most minute details and decided to quiz us on them. On top of that, today I have just 5 days until my midterm hell begins. This weekend is Homecoming weekend, so I’m going to be going nonstop.
All of these things add up to the most stressful week I’ve ever had. But I have yet to finish the story. Each day that I mentioned, God did something amazing in my life: He eased my stress and pain. Tuesday, after my mid morning nap, and a little bit of prayer, my day completely turned around and was actually pretty awesome. Wednesday, I went to the all-campus Homecoming worship and was completely refreshed and renewed. And today, I took a nap and got to go to lunch with an upperclassmen who is in Young Life. She really reassured me that I was going to make it through this week.
Every time I felt that I really couldn’t go on, and I’d rather just sleep through the next couple of weeks and go home for fall break, God reassured me that I am here for a reason, and that I can and will make it. Every time, he gave me exactly what I needed to make it through. He is faithful and He can do anything!
“Cast your cares on the Lord and he will sustain you; he will never let the righteous be shaken.” Psalm 55:22 (NIV)
I needed to hear that this week, and God showed it to me. I pray he shows the same to you.

                                                                      #####

Although this isn’t on par with the rest of the entry, today is October 3rd, and in honor of that…

(Source: Tumblr)

Leave a Reply

