Well, here I am. A week into college and Loving it with a capital L. Grove City College class of 2017 and all that… It’s hard to imagine that just over a week ago I was quite literally freaking out about college and crying at inopportune moments and worrying myself sick. After frea… king out all summer and devoting all my thoughts to how scary it was going to be, the big change has finally happened. And I haven’t shed a tear since I got here. It’s such an amazing place. Since I’ve been here (seven days), I have already gone to four worship services and had a spontaneous prayer/song sesh with my roommate and RAs. Needless to say, AWESOME. 
After reflecting on my summer and how I was feeling before I got here, with typical 20/20 hindsight, I have analyzed what I could’ve done to stop freaking out. It’s what made this transition a thousand times easier… Prayer. God is doing some cool things here, folks. He is working in my life and the lives of the people around me, and it is incredibly prevalent. On top of what I can see right in front of me, He tells us that he’s got our backs right in the Bible! (Who would’ve thunk?) He says, “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough worry of its own.” Matthew 6:34 (NIV). I got an email from my connection group leaders (part of the Orientation process here at GCC) with that verse the night that I was leaving, which was when I was saying goodbye to all the people who have literally been by my side my entire life. And I was in an emotional crisis. And then God reached down through that email and was like “WHOA THERE JAMIESON. You, my friend, need to take a chill pill. Give me all your worries and I’ll keep them for you, sound good?” And I said “Okay if you say so God.” And then I prayed and I felt a lot better. He’s a pretty awesome God and I am so excited to get to know him better over the four years I am here, and over the rest of my life. And thus begins my life as a Grover… In the meantime I need to head to class. But don’t worry, I’ll keep y’all (or as they say in Western PA, yins) posted as big exciting things happen here. Shalom.

Leave a Reply

